Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Rural Partners Network

The Rural Partners Network (RPN) is an alliance of federal agencies and civic partners working to expand rural prosperity through job creation, infrastructure development, and community improvement.

Get the Factsheet Hoja Informativa Frequently Asked QuestionsPreguntas FrecuentesThe Rural Playbook

How is the Rural Partners Network Different?

The Rural Partners Network introduces a new way of doing business: a collaboration among federal agencies meant to improve access to government resources, staffing and tools. Participating agencies designate key points of contact who focus specifically on rural strategies, improving visibility and attention to rural issues.

The Rural Partners Network also puts federal staff on the ground to support designated, economically challenged communities. Known as “Community Liaisons,” these federal employees provide local leaders with the expertise to navigate federal programs. Community Liaisons help build relationships and identify additional resources to get the job done. As their work progresses, the lessons learned will impact future federal rural policy development and investment strategies.

“Building Stronger Futures Together”

Community Networks

Community networks in these states are getting "boots-on-the-ground" support as dedicated federal employees provide place-based community economic development guidance in navigating federal programs, building relationships, and identifying community-driven solutions.

Map of Community Networks

State Community Network

San Carlos Apache Tribe


Tohono O'odham Nation


Cocopah Indian Tribe


Southwest Georgia Regional Commission: Counties of Mitchell, Baker, Calhoun, Colquitt, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Lee, Seminole, Miller, Terrell, Thomas, and Worth


Ben Hill County and City of Fitzgerald


Emanuel County and City of Twin City


Fulton County and Cities of Fulton, Hickman, and Cayce


Kentucky Highlands: Counties of Bell, Perry, Harlan, Leslie, Letcher, Whitley, Knox, Clay


Washington County Economic Alliance: Counties of Washington, Bolivar, Sunflower, and Leflore


Greater Granada - Lake District Partnership: Counties of Grenada and Yalobusha


North Delta Planning and Development District: Counties of Coahoma, Quitman, and Tunica


Northern New Mexico Pathways Economic Development District: Counties of San Miguel, Taos, Mora, and Colfax


Southwest New Mexico Council of Governments: Counties of Catron, Grant, Hidalgo, and Luna


Mesilla Valley Public Housing Authority: Doña Ana County

These federal agencies are members of the Rural Partners Network:

The White House
U.S. Department of Agriculture
Department of the Treasury
U.S. Department of the Interior
U.S. Department of Commerce’s Economic Development Administration
U.S. Department of Labor
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
U.S. Department of Transportation
U.S. Department of Energy
Department of Education
Department of Veterans Affairs
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
U.S. Small Business Administration
Appalachian Regional Commission
Delta Regional Authority
Denali Commission
Northern Border Regional Commission
Southeast Crescent Regional Commission

Stay Connected

The Rural Partners Network is a long-term investment focused on developing capacity, encouraging collaboration, and promoting partnerships. Visit this site often to see how we're growing - and share your ideas by emailing us at

Or subscribe to receive the latest RPN updates.